Wednesday, January 26, 2011

To be or not to be a vegetarian?

I travel a lot! And diet is always on my mind. Every time I put something is my mouth I am asking myself "Is this good for me"? But sometimes you have to feed the hole! And it sucks to think I have to always ask myself this. And then you hear something about Taco Bell is being sued because the ground meat they use is only 30% meat! Ummm someone want to tell me what the other 70% is? All I know is we won't be eating there anymore. My favorite was a bean burrito and a taco supreme. Not anymore. And then I find out Subways bread is not good for you! I don't eat at any other fast food unless I am forced too.
So with this new enlightenment on my choices I am going to have to do some hard thinking on a better way to eat on the road and be satisfied. It's not easy. I would like to be a vegetarian on the road but can't see that always working well. And when we have other people with us it get's even harder. Maybe I have to start eating protein bar?. I need suggestions people. Granted there are times when I can control it. But when you are in a new town and don't know the lay of land or even have time to figure it out that is where the challenge comes in. For my own health I have to change this aspect of my life more then it already is.
You are what you eat. I was a salt pillar. My blood pressure shot up over the summer I believe due to I stopped paying attention to what I was eating. and now I am paying that price. We all will in the end if we stay on the path of crappy eating. It is all around us you can't get away from it. Even Subway who claims to be good for us. What to do what to do?
At least when I am home I have control. We are more or less vegetarian at home with the occasional organic meat meal. But wow do I notice a difference when I eat meat. My stomach goes nuts! Never realized my stomach issues might be from meat. when I eat veggie I don't notice these "issues".
Ok well I need to post this wonderful vegan recipe that has become a fav in our house on almost a weekly basis now. It has everything you need in a meal. Including protein from cashews.
here is it hope someone enjoys it!

cream of broccoli and cashew soup!

"The creaminess of this soup comes from cashews pureed with vege broth. Not low in fat, but high protein and fiber."
Ingredients
1 cup raw cashews
5 cups vegetable stock or 5 cups bouillon
2 yukon gold potatoes, unpeeled, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1 medium onions, finely chopped
4 1/2 cups broccoli, trimmed and coarsely chopped
1 teaspoon dried basil
1 teaspoon fine sea salt
1/4 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
Directions
Put the cashews and 1 cup of the vegetable stock into a blender. Blend until smooth, about 1 minute.
Put the remaining 4 cups vegetable stock, the potatoes and the onion into a large pot. Bring to a simmer, cover and cook for 5 minutes. Stir in the broccoli and basil and return to a simmer. Cover and cook until the potatoes are tender, about 10 minutes.
Stir in the cashew mixture, the salt, the pepper and bring just to a simmer. Remove from the heat, transfer about half of the soup to a blender and puree, or use stick blender. Return the puree to the pot and stir well. Serve immediately.

I made this the other night on my quest to not eat as much meat. It was soooo yummy. But I only had salted roasted cashews. So I rinsed them in water to get the salt off and thought the roasted flavor really added to it! If you use stock chicken would be yummy but don't just use water

2 comments:

Unknown said...

The other 70% is raccoon meat. Don't eat it. ;)

Being a vegetarian is tricky.. first you have to explain yourself to meat eaters, and then you have to try to order off a menu that is 99.9% meat.. except the side dishes. I can usually put together an entire meal just by ordering side dishes.. a salad, a baked potato, maybe some cottage cheese. We don't eat out that often anyway, so it't not that big of a deal.

The ISFair, however is a pain in my vegetarian butt. There is next to NOTHING there to eat that isn't deep fried on a stick, or covered in cheese. This summer I'm bringing my food. I'll show you where to shop in Des Moines. No more Taco Bell for Roaming Foam. ;)

Roaming Foam said...

ewwwwwww cheese covered pork chops!